Microwaves Research Group web banner 3a

Microwaves and Antenna Engineering Research Group

Pioneering the analysis, design and integration of high frequency electronics devices and systems


Dr. Symon Podilchak, Heriot-Watt University, UK 

Title: Time Reversal Techniques by retrodirective antenna arrays for Wireless Power Transfer 

Abstract: Retrodirective antenna arrays have certain capabilities that can offer some very interesting advantages for wireless power transfer. This includes real-time, automatic target tracking by time reversal and re-radiation of RF power to a specific direction away from the array, and without previous knowledge of the original target location. The workshop will investigate these concepts in the frequency and time domains while also considering practical examples such as the charging of a mobile unit in the far-field using efficient antennas and high-power microwave circuit technologies. 

Bio: Dr. Symon K. Podilchak completed his PhD at Queen’s University in Canada and is now an Associate Professor at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland. His research is currently supported by a H2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie European Research Fellowship. He is also registered Professional Engineer (P.Eng.) and has had industrial research experience designing automotive radar systems for Samsung and Magna Electronics. Some recent industry experience also includes the design of new wireless power transmission systems using time reversal techniques for mobile handhelds. His research interests also include planar antennas, retrodirective arrays, and microwave circuits. Dr. Podilchak has been the recipient of many best paper awards and scholarships; most notably Research Fellowships from the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, as well as, the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society. He also received The Best Paper Prize for Antenna Design at the 2012 European Conference on Antennas and Propagation, The 2013 Postgraduate Fellowship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and The 2016 European Microwave Prize for his PhD research, which also, received The Outstanding Dissertation Award from Queen’s University in 2014.