Microwaves Research Group web banner 3a

Microwaves and Antenna Engineering Research Group

Pioneering the analysis, design and integration of high frequency electronics devices and systems


Prof. Nuno B. Carvalho, Institute of Telecommunications, University of Aveiro, Portugal 

Title: Backscatter circuits, a renew paradigm for IoT Sensors – design strategies 

Abstract: In this talk backscatter solutions will be discussed for IoT sensor development, some history background, as a carefully discussion on WPT and BS implementation from a hardware point of view will be addressed, as also a new paradigm of multi-high-level order BS modulations. This is going to be complemented with some application examples. 

borgesBio: Nuno Borges Carvalho (S’97–M’00–SM’05-F’15) was born in Luanda, Angola, in 1972. He received the Diploma and Doctoral degrees in electronics and telecommunications engineering from the University of Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal, in 1995 and 2000, respectively. 

He is currently a Full Professor and a Senior Research Scientist with the Institute of Telecommunications, University of Aveiro and an IEEE Fellow. He coauthored Intermodulation in Microwave and Wireless Circuits (Artech House, 2003), Microwave and Wireless Measurement Techniques (Cambridge University Press, 2013) and White Space Communication Technologies (Cambridge University Press, 2014). He has been a reviewer and author of over 200 papers in magazines and conferences. He is associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, IEEE Microwave Magazine, IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation and Cambridge Wireless Power Transfer Journal. 

He is the co-inventor of four patents. His main research interests include software-defined radio front-ends, wireless power transmission, nonlinear distortion analysis in microwave/wireless circuits and systems, and measurement of nonlinear phenomena. He has recently been involved in the design of dedicated radios and systems for newly emerging wireless technologies. 

Dr. Borges Carvalho is the co-chair of the IEEE MTT-20 Technical Committee and the past-chair of the IEEE Portuguese Section and MTT-11, and also belong to the technical committees, MTT-11, MTT-24 and MTT-26. He is also the chair of the URSI-Portugal Metrology Group. He was the recipient of the 1995University of Aveiro and the Portuguese Engineering Association Prize for the best 1995 student at the University of Aveiro, the 1998 Student Paper Competition (Third Place) of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) International Microwave Symposium (IMS), and the 2000 IEE Measurement Prize. 

He is a Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society.